Menu

Alpha Phonics vs Phonics Pathways

kfeusse

I have a 6 year old son who knows his letters, beginning sounds and some easy 3 letter words. Last year we worked through the first 3 books of ETC (A, B, and C) and are part way through #1. Although he is not struggling (other than lack of motivation), I am wondering whether or not one of these 2 programs might be a little better. I have 2 other kids and they both learned their basic reading skills in PS before we pulled, so this is my first try at teaching reading. Can someone please guide me? Thanks.

I haven't used Alpha Phonics, but have taught two advanced readers with PP. What I like about it is the short lessons (about 5 minutes a day) and the way they train the eyes/brain to pick up words in chunks. We've done it all orally, just have them read a page a day, so even when they're not motivated it's quick & relatively painless. There is some writing/spelling in the instructions, but I haven't done it that way. Some people think there isn't enough teacher guidance, but I guess it depends what you're looking for. My younger really likes Dewey the bookworm and looks forward to finding out what he says after she reads each page. Both of them really "clicked" about halfway through the book and were able to finish simple chapter books at that point. I don't know if that's the PP program or just similar learning styles, though. HTH!

W haven't used Alphaphonics, but I am currently using PP with two of my kids. I like it because of the ease and price and the general philosophy of the book. We read through 1 or two pages a day. My dd needed PP because she was not tracking well. The PP book has trained her to track the letters and decode.