Menu

Help for dyslexia?

Guest SandiMB

Guest SandiMB

This is my first time to ever post a thread, or do anything like this but it's worth a shot. This is my first year homeschooling my son, age 8. He has dyslexia, as well as add. After 3 years in a public school, he was barely advancing and was going to be in a full time 2nd grade resource room. I REALLY need to start from the beginning! What workbooks should I use that are Orton-Gillingham based? :confused:

There are a lot of options out there. My youngest is dyslexic, but I didn't use the programs most commonly used by dyslexics.

My dd used

Headsprout with I See Sam readers

Funnix level 2 with Phonics for Reading 2

Phonics for Reading 3

lots of work with nonsense words

lots of timed repeated readings

Rewards Reading

She is going into 7th grade and has been reading at grade level since the end of 4th grade. The list I posted above is what we started in 2nd grade. At that point she knew all her letters (with b/d confusion) and could sound out any cvc words, but couldn't recognize any word on sight, not even her own name.

The programs I see most commonly recommended for dyslexics are:

Barton Reading - the cadillac of OG programs, very expensive, but it has everything and is dvd-based

Wilson Reading - another OG program

Recipe for Reading - probably the least expensive OG program

Abecedarian - a phonographix program

LiPS (would spell it out, but I don't remember what it stands for) - a Lindamood-Bell program that works on auditory processing and phonemic awareness

Visualizing and Verbalizing - a Lindamood-Bell program that works on comprehension