Menu

Question re: AOPS Intro to Algebra pacing at home

KarenDV

For anyone who has had a 7th grader or younger complete AOPS's Intro to Algebra as part of homeschool, is it realistic to expect to cover the whole thing in a year if you don't do it 5 days a week? My family's kind of swamped this year and I can only provide "class" instruction for math three times a week. (In fact, has anyone made a schedule or syllabus I can reference for realistic daily goals?)

I'm also wondering about how much your students self-taught, and how you handled the challenge problems. My inclination is to require the non-starred problems and make the starred problems extra credit if he completes them himself but also to make sure we talk about them all in any case.

For background: My son (not quite 12, going into 7th) completed Singapore through 6B in grade 4 and Key to Algebra series in 5th grade. For 6th, he went to a one-yr. environmental school where the math was grade level but more or less self-taught. He can handle the difficulty but math is not necessarily his passion, and he does have a challenging schedule this year.

Thanks for any responses -- I've crossposted elsewhere to no avail.

Hi Karen,

I haven't used this book yet; I've only spent some time looking at it. I'm hoping someone with experience will chime in, but in the absence of that, I thought I could at least give you my thoughts.

While I'm sure it's possible to finish it in a year, I'm not sure it's necessary. My understanding is that this book covers Algebra I and about half of Algebra II.

I think a chapter every two weeks is a reasonable goal, which would put you at 44 weeks for the whole book. My guess is that some of the chapters will go more quickly, especially the first couple.