Menu

Heart of Dakota Question

Mallorie

I'm a newbie Homeschooler, and I'll have 1st, 4th and 7th Graders. I like the look of Heart of Dakota, at least my initial impression, and I was wondering if there was one that would work for my two oldest together? I know their math and grammar will be at different levels, but for the spine HOD?

Is this a good program for someone starting out this "late in the game"?

Edited by Mallorie

Heart of Dakota is a great program for a newbie as the author helps you by doing all the planning and gives you key ideas to take away from each lesson. I think that depending on the skills of your oldest two, you could combine them into Preparing Hearts or Creation to Christ. I think I would strive to have the youngest fit the guide as much as possible so that you would only need to modify for the oldest. Each of those programs lists the ages you list in your signature with extensions available for the oldest. So if it were me, I'd try to place the youngest in the following chart: http://heartofdakota.com/placing-your-child.php

then I'd make sure the extensions are the right age for the oldest. I know some of the ladies on the HOD boards could help you with placement or extension ideas.

So far there are plans for guides written up to 8th grade with extensions up to maybe 9th or 10th grade. However, Preparing is written for 3rd or 4th grade with extensions for 5th and 6th grade. CTC is written for 4th or 5th grade with extensions for 6th and 7th grade and so on. She is writing a new guide each year going through 8th grade and later with extensions.

The thing that I would be most concerned with starting a 7th grader in HOD to fit with a 4th grader is that your 7th grader is so close to high school. Every state has different requirements and credits needed and how many of each subject and special subjects...That would be my first concern and where I would start before picking curriculum.