Menu

Standardized test scores - Language Mechanics?

My ds12's Stanford test results arrived today, and for the most part, I was very pleased with the results. He's in 6th grade, very self-directed and independent in his work and fun to teach. Let me say right off, I am not complaining, not trying to compare. Two of my other ds are struggling learners and I know these scores are good; my question is regarding how to strengthen weak areas for this particular ds.

Most of his scores (math, reading, spelling) were PHS equivalency, with a notable departure in the area of language mechanics, where he scored in the 42nd percentile. We have done a very Charlotte Mason sort of LA program (after he became deathly allergic to R&S in 2nd grade), using PLL and ILL, with a grammar workbook each year. He has done a fair amount of writing using ILL, and when I edit (I was an English major and journalist), he seems to have a good understanding of grammar usage. Obviously, however, there's something more we could do. The student report states that language mechanics includes "capitalization, usage and punctuation." I am trying to plan his LA for next year and had considered LLATL, but now am wondering whether that is strong enough in this area. I've considered CLE but am wondering about that same "allergic" reaction in him, LOL.

Can anyone recommend a product or program that can help with this particular area of LA?

Thanks so much,

Aimee

mom to 6 great kids ages 7-19, schooling grades 1, 3, 3 and 6

Just a note to add that his score for language mechanics was 42% for private schools, 56% for public; his score for language expression was in the 78th percentile. Here's the odd thing: I just dug out last year's test scores, and last year he scored in the 97th percentile for mechanics and the 99.9th for expression. What on earth could explain a drop like that? I haven't seen an indication of it in his schoolwork.