Menu

Secular homeschooling convention/conference?

Well, the Washington Homeschool Organization is not a religious organization. It hosts a huge curriculum fair and a couple of days of speakers. I think there are some speakers who may be Christians, and various vendors whose curricula is from a Christian viewpoint, but other speakers and vendors are secular.

http://www.washhomeschool.org/convention/convention.html

I saw SWB there a couple of years ago. :001_smile:

The Link Homeschool Conference in southern California each year is secular and less "unschooly" than other secular conferences. When I worked as a vendor there a couple of years ago, we were treated horribly, and the conference was incredibly disorganized for such a large event, so I can't really recommend it.

The Minnesota Homeschoolers Alliance conference is secular and not unschooling oriented, but it's quite small. It's very well run, however.

Inclusive. Maybe that's more what I am looking for. A conference which does not limit itself to a set of narrow expectations or requirements, but recognizes that we as homeschoolers are a diverse group, and that we educate using diverse methods.

In my perfect world.... who would like to join me??? :D

Inclusive. Maybe that's more what I am looking for. A conference which does not limit itself to a set of narrow expectations or requirements, but recognizes that we as homeschoolers are a diverse group, and that we educate using diverse methods.

In my perfect world.... who would like to join me??? :D

Well, there was some discussion about a new convention series coming next year:

http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:g3ubUnz9ffwJ:www.cincinnatihomeschoolconvention.com/2011_Exhibitor_Application.doc+brennan+dean+homeschool+conference&cd=2&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=us