Menu

CLE, SAXON, SINGAPORE, MUS (just venting)

Ruby

We will be finishing up MUS Beta this summer and I now have CLE, saxon 3 and singapore shipping to my house. Couldn't make up my mind. Need to have it in hand to compare. This is my third child so you would think I'd have it all figured out by now. I just want to give him a solid math base. Why can't I make a decision?????????????? Ruby

So hard to choose, isn't it? I feel your pain. We have switched math programs several times...esp. for my ds12 who is in ps now, but coming home next year! Did you not like MUS? I have no experience with CLE (have heard good things, though). I did not like the elem. Saxon years (K-3) b/c it was way too teacher intensive for me. I do, however, like Saxon from 4th grade on (the textbooks). I love Singapore. My ds10 (in ps this year but also coming home) did very well with Singapore and now my ds8 is doing fairly well, too. He is struggling, but he isn't a mathy kid. We just go slow. No rush, kwim? Good luck choosing!

DD10 crashed & burned on MUS Delta - since this was her first exposure to MUS, some things were waaay too easy (division) and others were too hard (area). Just when she'd get in the groove of the easy lessons, MUS would hit her with something she'd never seen before. I think it would be great if we had started with it from the beginning.

She is loving Singapore. It explains everything exactly the way she learns so it's a really good fit for her.

DD13 loved CLE 800 this year! It's an excellent spiral method program for a child who needs continual review. And I love the way it introduces a wide variety of topics in younger levels so kids get a very gradual introduction to new topics over the course of several years. So when they see geometry in middle and high school, it will be familiar instead of deer in the headlights.