Menu

Habits of Healthy Homeschoolers?

hlee

This is my first year homeschooling, and it has been quite an experience overall, both good and not-so-good. I feel like the not-so-good parts are mostly my doing, and I want to make sure going forward that I create a healthy homeschooling environment. So I thought I'd put the question to the hive, especially those of you veterans: what do you do to create a healthy homeschool? What are some lessons you've learned along the way that you would suggest to those coming afterwards of dos and don'ts?

For comparison's sake, some times the unhealthy things I do are: 1) not giving enough grace and affirmation to my kids; 2) getting lost in the trees as opposed to seeing the big picture/forest of why we're homeschooling (i.e., getting too caught up in the to-do list); 3) being overly demanding at times...the list could probably go on and on!

Anyway, I would LOVE to hear from the wisdom of this group. What makes a healthy homeschool environment? What are some intentional choices you make to create that environment?

Thanks to all in advance for your feedback!

Healthy Habits:

Having a schedule/routine for homeschooling to stay on track. Not rigid, as flexibility for illness and other things do need to be allowed for, but most kids (and parents) do better with structure.

Limit time online. It is too easy to get sucked into many things online and lose track of where the time has gone.

Limit TV for obvious reasons.

School year round and take shorter breaks throughout the year.

Don't be tempted to compare. Each child (and teacher-parent) is an individual with unique learning/teaching styles, strengths and weaknesses. Education is not a race.