Menu

OPGTR users...around lesson 122...

hlee

...did you start getting confused about all the different vowel combos and sounds???? Did your DCs???

This is my first year homeschooling and first time using OPGTR. Overall, it's been great for my DS who has used it the past six months. Now we're hitting the point about midway through the book when it feels hard to help him distinguish between all the different sounds that can be made with similar combos of letters (the various sounds of -ow, for example) and there isn't exactly a rule to learn. It's just "sometimes -ow sounds like 'oh' in 'low' and sometimes it sounds like 'ow' like 'cow' and sometimes....."

Basically, is the child supposed to start just knowing/memorizing that "low" is pronounced the way it is and "how" is pronounced the way it is? Does the book continue to just get more and more like this, where there are so many rules it starts to feel overwhelming???

Just wondering if I can learn from the experiences of others! Thanks!

What you are referring to is the phonograms - the different sounds that the letter combinations can make. Yes, this does continue because OPG is an Orton-Gillingham based phonics program which is based on phonograms. Depending on the program, there are 70 or 71 of them. My dd had already learned many of them with All About Spelling (and we have a set of phonogram cards from another publisher that I have reviewed with her), so the cool thing with OPG and AAS has been how they connect that way.

If you are just doing OPG, I think I would start keeping a list of the sounds the phonograms make to help your dc remember the rules (most single letters or letter combinations make just 1 or 2 sounds; only a few make more than 2). In the long run, it will get less confusing and it will be helpful both for spelling and reading. I'm sorry, I don't have OPG in front of me to remember if there's anything in there that you can use as a reference page.