Menu

Woe is me! I suck at grammar!

But I am learning! :D

Not very quickly though. :confused::confused: (Two smilies because dh and I are studying together.)

We were working through Analytical Grammar the other night and really need to know what role the "probably not" plays in the following sentence:

"This story is probably not an accurate version of how your nation's symbol was made."

If I could know everything before I started learning it, it would be so much easier :lol:

Rosie

It describes the verb 'is' in that sentence.

Probably is also an adverb. It describes the adverb 'not'.

Adverbs can describe verbs, adjectives, or other adverbs. They can be anywhere in the sentence, which makes their identification more elusive and truly annoying.

HTH

Truer words were never spoken...er... I mean written. ;) :lol:

Ah. Well we haven't got to adverbs yet, and I was taught in school that adverbs only described verbs. They lied! :svengo:

I'll swoon with you!:svengo:And I'll raise you a glare. :glare:

Adverbs are just evil, I tell you. It's why Easy Grammar teaches them *last*.

Rosie, your title made me think of the book Woe is I. It's a humorous little grammar how-to for adults, and there's also a junior version.

I had the same thought, Mejane!

Wishing you good fortune with your adverbial travails, Rosie.

Regards,

Kareni

So we can't even simplify adverbs by considering them anything left over from the other categories?

Rosie- totally raring to get to the chapter on adverbs ;)

Um...what??

I think you can, if I understand your question correctly. Cross out/label/whatever the other words in the sentence and see what's left. That might *help*, but I don't know if it will be the final answer.

Adverbs are just evil.:glare: