Menu

Do you require your dc to write papers in other subjects than english?

Dc only write papers in english or for their online writing class. They do need more writing...not that I am a good teacher at writing, but I feel like we need to be writing more.

I was thinking the other day that dc could write about something in their science that they are studying.

I just started having them write a book reports for every other book that they read. At what age do you stop book reports?

I am not creative enough to come up with ideas for papers. If you are like me where do you get your ideas?

If you look at the "Across the Curriculum" points on SWB's outlines here:

http://www.welltrainedmind.com/writing-without-fear-producing-good-writers-k-12/

you'll see some good ideas. This is pretty much what our dc have done over the years. Their papers have gradually lengthened as they've gotten older - and once they got used to the idea of writing all the time. ;)

HTH

Kathy

I don't know how other science books are, but the Singapore Biology we're using has a couple little topical sidebars per chapter that make good writing assignments. A recent one was "Enzymes in Industry" or something like that... Most of them require a little internet research, so they're not big projects, just a day's work of finding out a little background and writing a page about it. He's currently working on some background research for a few marine biology projects we're adding in -- a couple pages each on five different locations and a species or two in each of them. Oh and the science fair project. That's a formal written report about 15 pages with annotated bibliography, the lab notebook, research notebook, display board, and notecards for an oral presentation.