Menu

Notgrass, vs BJU, vs Beautiful Feet history

Can anyone compare the World and American History from Notgrass and BJU?

I am torn between the two. I have read great and not so great reviews about both.

I have read that Notgrass is extremely boring. Is BJU any better?

I have read that Beautiful Feet lacks A LOT! That it doesnt really teach history it's mainly a book guide.

I'd love to hear from anyone who has used these

BJU's American History book is very much a "just the facts" type of book. However, that is what my children want with their history. I prefer a more literature based program, but there you have it. I have no experience with the other two programs.

Yes, BJU's American History is very much a "just the facts" book, and lots of facts at that! Notgrass is more of a narrative than a text, but it is still a text. Check out their samples at http://www.notgrass.com/american-history-high-school-curriculum.php. I've used both and prefer Notgrass. As for Beautiful Feet, I used part of US and World History, tweaked it a bit, and substituted some of their books because they were either too young or we simply didn't care for them (Hakim's History of US fits both categories). I was quite happy with the results! My son loves history and he learned a lot using BF; so did I.

I don't know why anyone would say that it doesn't teach history. I've learned more from biographies and the like than any textbook I've ever used, which is what BF uses primarily. However, I do understand that statement if they mean it seems to cover less ground than other programs, especially text-based programs such as BJU, ABeka or others.

Yolanda

Yolanda

Take it with a grain of salt, but Notgrass was recommend to me as an example of a work I would NOT LIKE (given a strong difference in world-view).

Curiosity aroused, I read the samples available on-line and found them highly interesting.