Menu

Exercise gurus, I have a few questions

I have been lifting weights for a few months and my routine is now easy. I wasn't sure if I should up the weight I use or do more reps or just continue as is. I don't want to get bulky, just toned.

Also, I need to start some abdominal exercises and I wasn't sure if these should be done daily or every other day when I do the weights.

Thanks!

I think adding weight does the bulking up. I don't like to bulk up either, to hard to maintain, I would look weird. Go for more reps & speed. That builds a lean muscle. For instance if you were doing 3x 20reps/ea at 5# increase the reps to 30 then 40 keep going. You can a little more weight, but adding weight signals the muscle to build. It depends on what muscle you are working too. Abdominals can be done every day. I'm a huge fan of Pilates, in which all moves involve the abdominals or core. Band work is also good.

I think adding weight does the bulking up. I don't like to bulk up either, to hard to maintain, I would look weird. Go for more reps & speed. That builds a lean muscle. For instance if you were doing 3x 20reps/ea at 5# increase the reps to 30 then 40 keep going. You can a little more weight, but adding weight signals the muscle to build. It depends on what muscle you are working too. Abdominals can be done every day. I'm a huge fan of Pilates, in which all moves involve the abdominals or core. Band work is also good.

Thanks! I will try adding more reps instead of more weight.

I think you could easily work your way up to 10# without being bulky. I'm at 10# now for arm exercises & no one would say I look like a body builder. I do use a heavier weighted vest for much of my lower body workout to keep from stressing my elbows. I've worked very very slowly to get to 10# with my arms & am not sure if I'll go much higher. Last time I pushed too fast to 15# & gave myself Tennis elbow.