Menu

VideoText Alg vs Foerster's Algebra?

A friend is offering VT modules A-C for $100. I won't be needing this for a couple of years but I like to learn ahead. I already own Foerster's Algebra - found it used at a couldn't pass up price. Can someone compare these two for me? What type of learner would like each one? My son is finishing up Rightstart levels A-E. We'll be moving into Rightstart Geo and cement some topics with Singapore Math levels 5 and 6.

Thank you for your time,

Capt_Uhura

I'm not an expert on VideoText, but I have heard that its sequence is less traditional (not sure if that means the sequence in which topics are introduced or the fact that it doesn't use the normal Alg I/Geo/Alg II cycle). It was one of the very first programs to show a teacher teaching the course. It would be appropriate for visual and audio learners.

We use Foerster's with the Math Without Borders CD-ROM. It, too, uses a taped teacher (whom you hear but don't see) writing on a whiteboard. The teacher is very good, though not very exciting. I believe my daughter is receiving excellent teaching from watching him. Foerster's is very traditional, with many, many practice problems. There are so many problems that we are taking 2-3 days on most lessons.

VideoText has not been reviewed by the Mathematically Correct reviewers, but Foerster's has, and it received an A+ rating.

Thanks for your thoughts everyone. I think I might pass on the VT Alg even though $100 for Modules A-C is tempting especially since I have Foester's.

iwka - I don't know the answer to your question. I have read that some go straight into algebra after SM 6B. Others do a year of LOF or some other pre-algebra but I think sometimes that is more for gaining maturity.

I just borrowed a copy of Videotext from a friend so my dd could evaluate it (trying to decide between that and Lial's BCM).