Menu

new here... ques about computer classes

Guest dbl_my_luv

Guest dbl_my_luv

Hi!

The co-op our family is involved in would like to have a computer programming class for high schoolers next year. Does anyone have a recommendation for a textbook, method or language to use?

My background is in programming, but it's been so long since I started, that I don't think the languages I used to learn are relevent anymore. I've looked at some intro to programming books using Python, and that seems like a good way to go, but the scope of the books varies so widely that I'm not sure what I should be looking to cover at the high school level.

Thanks!

Hi!

The co-op our family is involved in would like to have a computer programming class for high schoolers next year. Does anyone have a recommendation for a textbook, method or language to use.

My background is in programming, but it's been so long since I started, that I don't think the languages I used to learn are relevent anymore. I've looked at some intro to programming books using Python, and that seems like a good way to go, but the scope of the books varies so widely that I'm not sure what I should be looking to cover at the high school level.

Thanks!

Hi!

You might consider C. My ds did a computer programming series through EPGY and that's what they use. The course was Introduction to C, but really the whole series taught programming concepts and logic, using C. The text they used was, I think, The Art and Science of C. You can find it on Amazon. It's probably pricey though unless you get it used--it is a large hardbound textbook.