Menu

Getting started with TOG?

hsmommyx3

I want to start TOG next school year but I am new to Homeschooling and I am unsure of how to get started. My daughter will be in 2nd grade and my son will be in 5th grade. Do I just start with Unit 1 for both of them? What do you like most and least about TOG? What do the Lapbooks include and do you recommend them?

Thanks you!

Hi Jennifer,

I used TOG my first year of homeschooling with a 5th grader and and 3rd grader. I suggest you start both of the at the beginning with Year 1. Have you downloaded the sample? It's the complete first 3 weeks of the program. You can even get an idea of what the lap books contain. I love lap booking, but I haven't used TOG's yet because my older guys are too old and my youngest is too young I think.

Welcome to the board!

Karen

hello, Jennifer! I am coming out of my mostly lurking state to answer your question as i see you have few responses so far. I am sure you will receive more--the wisdom on this board is amazing!

I used TOG for the first time this year after 7 previous yrs with Sonlight. I will try to answer your questions.Oh, and I utilized the lower grammar, upper grammar and dialectic portions, except the philosophy for D level.

1. yes, you would start bth of your students in unit one at their appropriate level, which will probably be LG and UG for 1st and 5th, and then move them through together. If you have not done so look at your materials in the LOOM, there is some great scheduling advice by Dana Caywood and other hints. The following is what I did and refined over the year to a good rhythem that works well for me.