Menu

Subtraction

Hi all. I've been missing for a few months, life's been crazy. We got a slow start to school, but we've made some good progress.

But... my oldest dd is still lagging behind on math. She's 9 and has never done well with math. I'm working on trying get her at least up to where her younger sister is, if not up to grade level. Addition, she's doing OK with, she's even alright to an extent with multiplication and sometimes division (at least the concept of division). Where she does OK with these is when they are situational. Like, if we were going to the movies and there were five of us and each ticket cost $8. She could tell ya real fast that that's $40. But give her a paper that says 8*5= and she'd panic a little. She does not handle multiplication or division well on paper.

Subtraction, ugh! She hates subtraction. We've used tangible items to try to help her understand the concept. But for some reason she keeps wanting to add in the number you're supposed to take away, and doesn't seem to think you can take it away unless you add it in. If you have 10 stones, and you want to take 3 away, she seems to think you have to add 3 more in to be able to take them away. And if you have to take a number away from itself, that really blows her mind. She finds that fact that 10-10=0 frustrating--like it's too easy of an answer to be right.

I've also tried to explain it to her as backwards adding, resulting in the same frustration. I think the biggest problem is she doesn't trust her answers, then when she get's it wrong it just makes it worse. Every time she gets it right, I try to make a big deal out of it, then say that's OK try again when she gets it wrong. But other than that, I don't know how to get her out of the negative thought pattern.