Menu

Expectations too high or doing something wrong?

This is my first year homeschooling my ds6th grade, ds4th grade, and ds1st grade. Here's what I envisioned: school for 5-6 hrs/day, and time for quiet "room time (where they would do 60 min of reading for pleasure and I would have an hour of blessed, blissful silence)," chores, playing, and piano practice before dinner (which has to be around 5:00 because of soccer practice). Here's what I live: school for 7-8 hours/day, I'm lucky if they have time to unload and load the dishwasher, soccer practice is all the playing they get, they practice piano for 15 minutes most - but not all - days, and there is NO quiet room time (thus no blessed, blissful silence).

I've already switched spelling and math curriculums because what I was using was taking WAY too long or was too complicated. I switched their day of science experiments to Saturday so that they can do it with my dh (he loves science, and I don't enjoy it at all) and lighten their load during the week. DS4th is repeating the Latin that he "learned" in his classical school last year, but doesn't remember. I'll tell you what I'm doing, but here's the thing: I don't want to compromise their education, so it's not like I can really drop any subjects. Also, Thursday is like a 1/2 day for us because we go to a Bible study for a couple of hours in the morning.

DS 1st: Bible M-F; Grammar MTW (FLL); Spelling M-F (just switched to Apples and Pears from Spell to Write and Read); Reading M-F (I read to him and he narrates; he reads a different book to me); Writing MTWF(WWE); Math M-F (Singapore); History MWF (SotW); Science F, Sat (Elemental Science)

DS4th: Bible M-F; Grammar MTW (FLL); Spelling M-F (A&P); Reading M-F (Drawn into the Heart of Reading); Writing MTWF (WWE); Math M-F (just switched to Singapore from Saxon); History MWF (SotW); Science F, Sat (Elemental Science); Latin M-F (Latin for Children)