Menu

Anybody here either have or know a Llewellin Setter?

I've been longing for a dog for about three years now. We decided against a dog back then and had a baby instead ;) Now our baby is two years old and absolutely loves dogs. She's also gently for her age. Ds really digs dogs too and can't wait to have an active companion to do things with. Dh and I would like to bike with the dog (bike extension), go on hikes and canoeing. We had a Sheltie years ago and she would get tired on our trips.

I researched a lot in these past three years and know I do want a Llewellin Setter. Since they are not especially popular with anyone but bird hunters, I wanted to see if anyone here on the Hive knows or owns a Llewellin Setter. I've interviewed some of the breeder's customers, and I know I picked a reputable, responsible breeder. I was just curious to see any stories or peculiarities (e.g. Basset Hounds love to steal food).

We won't have our puppy until Spring next year, so ds will be six and a half and dd will be almost three.

Thanks!

Edited by sagira

I have one. Darwin is from rescue as I'm a 'don't breed or buy while shelter & rescue animals die' girl.

Honestly, if I were getting from a reputable breeder, I would probably go for a laverack for a pet & companion. Llewellins tend to be very wired. They will love to bike with you but odds are you will not be able to let it offleash for a long time & you'll need to use a bike springer. Darwin loves our springer but he runs faster than I'm comfortable biking :D