Menu

Thinkwell Math or something else?

I have a young student who is extremely advanced in math. He has self taught himself Algebra and is currently working on geometry. We used Harold Jacobs Algebra followed by Alex's Algebra and will finish Jacob's geometry and then follow up with Alex's geometry. My son LOVES to read math books in his free time. He has spent many hours reading and rereading trigonometry the easy way and calculus the easy way as we as some other math books lying around the house. He is 10 years old.

My plan was to go to Thinkwell next but I'm not sure of the level. Should we hit up Trigonometry next (I know he has covered some of this topic between the Jacob's books and Alex but I don't know if it's the full topic or not) or should we go straight into precalculus. Do they have placement tests available to determine the correct level? Also does anyone know if there is a difference between the Thinkwell you buy directly from the company (at $219) versus other retailers (around $90)? I'm trying to figure out why there is such a huge price discrepancy.

Finally is there any program that you would recommend instead of Thinkwell? I really need something with a self-grading component because with 3 younger siblings and another on the way I'm drowning in ungraded assignments as it is.

Thanks so much

Stephanie

We used THinkwell for part of the year last year and as a supplement this year. Their College Algebra is at the Al II-Al III level for the most part. Then you could move into their Trig course.

But, that said, I do have a few reservations about Thinkwell based on our experience that I want to share with you.