Menu

Slight CC/AFHE conf. in Phoenix this weekend

I'm looking through the break-out session schedule for the AFHE (Arizona Families for Home Education) conference this weekend in Phoenix, and only see about 2 or 3 sessions on Friday that I really I want to attend. Unfortunately, we can't stay for Saturday, but I think I might have the same dilemma if we were attending on Saturday. There seem to be more sessions about character building, purity and evangelism than home education. PLEASE DON'T FLAME ME...there is nothing wrong with these subjects, but I would rather discuss these at church.

Am I missing something? Could someone who is going enlighten me? I'm brand new to HSing this year, so I'm just learning who the "power players" are...maybe I'll miss out hearing someone wonderful.

So far I'm looking to attend these:

"Teaching to your Child's Bent" with Jordan Hulcy (Jessica's son) of KONOS

"How to Teach Math" with David Quine of Making Math Meaningful

"Essential Science" with Rebecca Keller of Real Science 4 Kids (I'm looking forward to this session the most...)

I have nothing in mind for one of the tracks (1:30 - 2:30 on Friday), as there is NOT ONE session that is school-related!!!! I'm sure they are all encouraging, wonderful sessions, but......

Edited by BikeBookBread
Widen the chance of a response with a better title.

We just got an e-mail reminder about the convention with hints for a successful convention, one of which was, "Get childcare." Hmmmm. Why, when we signed up, did they offer a child's attendance fee which we paid? While we knew it would be an adult-centered day, it now appears that children aren't really encouraged to attend (except for teens which have their own program). My attitude is getting worse. :glare:

You might want to look at http://www.hena.us

This is the Home Education Network of Arizona....another statewide homeschooling group. They will be having their 4th annual convention in March, 2010.