Menu

BTDT HSer how did you teach ur kid 2 read?

Sahmqui

I want to know what program, books, curriculum, video, etc you used successful to teach your child to read.

• Did you use a phonics base, spelling base, or memorization base method to teach them how to read?
  • When did you start letting them read on there own? (allow them to choose, and what books did you allow)
  • How did you advance their reading to reading chapter books by themselves (ex. Magic Tree House, etc)?
  • When did you introduce sentence structure? (punucation, subject, predicate, etc)

I am trying to see pattern or time line here. I am very new to teaching subjects but not new to teaching (I teach my kids w/o even knowing it). I know that I want my child to have the ability to read anything, I just do not know how to get there. For example, when to introduce phonics rules, sentence structure, nouns, etc. Or wait until their 8 or older. I just I want to see the success of reading and the progression from learning letter sounds to reading at a college level :)

Thanks in advance for answering my question so that I can see your progression and success :D

BTW - my 2 DD are working together learning letter sounds, DS reads at second grade level, and the baby just listens.

Edited by Sahmqui
typing while nursing so excuse the spelling/grammar errors

I taught my dd to read by reading to her every single day from the time she was a baby. By the time she was five, she all of a sudden started reading to me out loud and completely shocked me. It didn't take long to discover that she could read words to me at random as I pointed to them. Somehow, she broke the code all by herself.

I'm sharing this with you now not to boast, but to encourage you that reading aloud is the most powerful tool in educating a child to read. Surely there are some methods and books that will enhance that, but reading aloud is by far the most important. Even after your child learns to read, keep reading to them.

Blessings,