Menu

How do you adjust to never being done??

You would think after being a parent for over 14 years I would be used to this, but I'm not. Growing up, you finished a school year and you were done. I was always REALLY busy during the school year: choir, show choir, drama, youth group, etc. But then there was the glorious summer and the break in January when it was really slow. Same thing with college. I like being busy. I love people. But I need breaks of time where I interact with NO ONE. I declutter and go through things and think. I felt done at the end of each semester. Then I taught school for 5 years. Once again, at the end May I was DONE and I had a whole summer to do crafts, slowly think about the next year and re-energize. We lived in a teeny apartment. I love people, but they drain me. I was a good teacher, but I came home every afternoon and took a one hour nap and then got up and fixed dinner, graded papers, interacted with hubby if he was there. See that is the other thing. Dh was gone SO much during residency. I had tons of alone time and I loved it. Then I had kids... Then I took care of disabled father on top of that (he just died). I REALLY, REALLY want a whole month with no one around but me like I used to so I can get organized, but it isn't going to happen. Like I said teaching and being so upbeat and happy and finding the best way to teach everything is draining, but THEY ARE ALWAYS HERE. I can't go take a nap like I did when I was first married and teaching ps. I gave my heart and soul into those kids, but I had time to re-energize. I'm really dreading this school year. How can I teach all of those subject well and keep on top of an advanced 9th grader, average 7th grader and bright 2nd grader with visual processing issues.. And rest and re-energize. Then there is the huge house, 50 acres.. I'm never done. I really miss the feeling I had in May when I was done. I should be adjusted but I can't. I want to be done.

Christine