Menu

Wanted: Advice on finding community for your children after a move...

So we are in the midst of moving down to San Diego. My sons have grown up here in the West Valley section of LA, always at the same church.

Do you have any suggestions to help make new connections at our new home? Plans already: We will have a church (as I'm a pastor) with a good Sunday School. I hope that goes well, but there is stress related to being a PK as well. I'm planning on signing my older son up for Cub Scouts, there is a den that is based at the church. Younger son is not old enough yet. I think we'll be going to be using a homeschool charter next year (Dehesa Charter School) in an effort to make connections, so there will be weekly PE classes at the park, maybe Spanish classes. I've already talked to my education coordinator--she used WTM herself, and we can use all the curriculum we already have planned.

What do you do to re-connect when you move? Our neighborhood doesn't seem very "neigborhoody". Would you walk to houses around and introduce yourself? What about kids... how do they meet others? So far, all my kids' friends were the children of dh/my friends. We've done lots of activities, but they have never made friends there. I know they are young, so maybe that will change soon? Though, as I said in a related thread, my older son is "that" kid.

Mostly I'm looking for creative ideas and general suggestions on helping this transition go smoothly--the truck comes next Friday and I'm getting nervous. I've never moved with kids!

And just for fun, a link to our new house. We're co-housing with friends who are moving down to be with us (yeah!)--they have no children and will live in the first floor apartment, which is not pictured.

http://s283.photobucket.com/albums/kk303/pastrkay/New%20House/