Jump to content

Menu

Kareni

Members
  • Content Count

    22,022
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    6

Everything posted by Kareni

  1. I read and enjoyed the science fiction novella, Binti by Nnedi Okorafor; I'm now waiting for the next book in the trilogy to arrive from the library. Thank you for the recommendation, @SusanC. "Winner of the Hugo Award and the Nebula Award for Best Novella! Her name is Binti, and she is the first of the Himba people ever to be offered a place at Oomza University, the finest institution of higher learning in the galaxy. But to accept the offer will mean giving up her place in her family to travel between the stars among strangers who do not share her ways or respect her customs.Knowledge c
  2. Regarding the Queen's Thief series: I've heard nothing but good things about the series and will try to get back to it. Regards, Kareni
  3. I recall that @Matryoshkaspoke highly of the book. Regards, Kareni
  4. Oops, at first I thought you were speaking metaphorically, and then I realized there was indeed a missing link! Looking for intriguing non-fiction to add variety to my teen's reading ... Regards, Kareni
  5. I finally read a book that my daughter has recommended for years, The Thief (The Queen's Thief Book 1) by Megan Whalen Turner; it was a very good read. "Eugenides, the queen’s thief, can steal anything—or so he says. When his boasting lands him in prison and the king’s magus invites him on a quest to steal a legendary object, he’s in no position to refuse. The magus thinks he has the right tool for the job, but Gen has plans of his own. The Queen’s Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans, and have been honored with glowing reviews, “best of” citations, and
  6. Currently FREE for Kindle readers ~ The Letter: An unforgettable novel of love, war and secret kept for generations... by Ruth Saberton Shortlisted for the prestigious Winston Graham Historical Fiction Prize 2018, The Letter is a beautiful novel set in England between the First World War and the present day. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton, it is a story of family, forbidden love, and long kept secrets. This suspenseful novel is set in Cornwall and reminiscent of Daphne du Maurier and Rosamunde Pilcher. Romantic and moving, it is a tale of loss and love, the devastation of war and a
  7. Some bookish posts ~ No, the following isn't about a hobbit! "Living the Good Life in a Hole in the Ground" https://slate.com/culture/2021/02/winter-pasture-li-juan-memoir-kazakh-nomads.html ** Am I the only one here with aphantasia? "Being a Writer When You Literally Cannot Visualize Scenes Alexandra Oliva on Aphantasia, the Joys of Voice, and Scenic Details" https://lithub.com/being-a-writer-when-you-literally-cannot-visualize-scenes/ ** Regards, Kareni
  8. Last night I finished The Last Sun (The Tarot Sequence Book 1) by K. D. Edwards; I quite enjoyed the book and was sorry to see that my library does not own the second book of the planned nonology. I've submitted a purchase suggestion. I think others here might enjoy this book... @mumto2, @Robin M, @melmichigan, perhaps @tuesdayschild. "In this debut novel and series starter, the last member of a murdered House searches for a missing nobleman, and uncovers clues about his own tortured past. Rune Saint John, last child of the fallen Sun Court, is hired to search for Lady Judgment's missing
  9. @Belphoebe, another possibility to consider for your son is non-fiction. Here is a thread that I began in 2008 which had some good suggestions. I've no doubt there are more excellent works that have been published since. I started the thread because I was looking at my daughter's reading list and realized how biased her list was in favor of fiction. Regards, Kareni
  10. Recopying from an old post: My daughter took a variety of classes at the local community college in 11th and 12th grades while also taking classes at home and at a local resource center for homeschoolers. We looked at these classes as a way of enriching her studies; we were not expecting them to transfer for credit at whatever four year college she attended. My daughter's experience was similar to what regentrude mentioned above; none of her credits were accepted at her fairly selective liberal arts college. But we were not disappointed as that had not been her goal in taking them.
  11. Recopying an old post: My daughter did the following sciences while in high school. 9th: Physical Science 10th: Chemistry (Lab) 11th: G 101: Earth's Dynamic Interior (Lab) 11th: G 102 Earth's Dynamic Surface (Lab) 11th: G 146: Rocks and Minerals (Lab) 12th: ENVS 181: Terrestrial Science (Lab) We allowed her to study the sciences that interested her at the community college in 11th and 12th grades (namely Geology and Environmental Science) rather than mandating that she study the more traditional Biology in which she had no interest. Note that she took neither Biology
  12. Carole, how nice to see you! My daughter considered your AP Statistics class one of her two most valuable high school classes, so we remember you fondly. (She was in the first PA Homeschoolers group you taught, I believe.) Wishing you a successful school year and a happy retirement. Regards, Kareni
  13. Currently FREE for Kindle readers ~ Mansfield Park by Jane Austen Mind Sweeper (Mind Sweeper Series Book 1) A Wallflower's Wish Boxed Set: Three Regency Romances by Maggie Dallen, Katherine Ann MadisonAbout Hana: A New Zealand Mystery (The Hana Du Rose Mysteries Book 1) by K T Bowes Witchy Reservations: A Paranormal Cozy Mystery (Mystic Inn Mystery Book 1) Kindle Edition by Stephanie DamoreMakeup & Murder: Beauty Secrets Mystery Book 1 Kindle Edition by Stephanie Damore Regards, Kareni
  14. Currently FREE for Kindle readers ~ Simon the Coldheart by Georgette Heyer Petrified Wood (Layna Wood Book 1) by Allison O'Shea LGBT: Counting Fence Posts Kelly Jensen. The Elder Empire - Sea (3 Book Series) by Will Wight The Elder Empire - Shadow (3 Book Series) by Will Wight Regards, Kareni
  15. Yesterday I learned that a new Acton and Doyle book had been released. I promptly bought it and began reading; I finished it this morning. Murder in Unsound Mind: Doyle & Acton #13 by Anne Cleeland I enjoyed the book. New readers to the series should definitely start with the first book, Murder in Thrall. Regards, Kareni
  16. The FREE TOR BOOK of the month is The Unspoken Name (The Serpent Gates Book 1) A. K. Larkwood Download before 11:59 PM ET, March 5th, 2021. Regards, Kareni
  17. Currently FREE for Kindle readers ~ Ten First Dates: A romantic comedy anthologyLoved You Once by Claudia BurgoaWhat I’m Looking For by Karen GreyLove Under Construction by M.C. CernyMixed Signals by Mia HeintzelmanOn The Rox by Kat AddamsMoonshine and Magnolias by Abigail SharpeToo Tempting by Bethany LopezLove, Lacey Donovan by Jill BrashearImperfect Chemistry by Mary FrameSome Call It Love by Sarah Peis ** LGBT: Let's Connect by Kelly Jensen Regards, Kareni
  18. Last night I finished the book my distant book group will be discussing tomorrow. Miss Jane: A Novel by Brad Watson It was a pensive book that reminded me a bit of Where the Crawdads Sing when it focused on the natural world. I found it a quick read. "Since his award-winning debut collection of stories, Last Days of the Dog-Men, Brad Watson has been expanding the literary traditions of the South in work as melancholy, witty, strange, and lovely as any in America. Drawing on the true story of his great-aunt, he explores the life of Miss Jane Chisolm, born in rural, early-twen
  19. I just finished The Spaceship Next Door by Gene Doucette which I quite enjoyed. It was recommended by a commenter and subsequently reviewed on the Dear Author site. You can see the review here. I never expected that I'd read and enjoy a book with (highlight to read) SPOILER ALERTzombiesEND SPOILER. "When a spaceship lands in Sorrow Falls, a lovable and fearless small-town girl is the planet’s only hope for survival Three years ago, a spaceship landed in an open field in the quiet mill town of Sorrow Falls, Massachusetts. It never opened its doors, and for all that time, the townspeople h
  20. Currently FREE for Kindle readers ~ Then Came You (Compass Cove Book 1) by Jeannie MoonWolfeHeart: de Wolfe Pack Generations by Kathryn Le VequeThe Stationmaster's Cottage: Unforgettable dual timeline romantic mystery (River's End Book 1) by Phillipa Nefri Clark Regards, Kareni
  21. Some bookish posts ~ From the Word Wenches -- What We're Reading: February https://wordwenches.typepad.com/word_wenches/2021/02/what-were-reading-february-.html 16 RECENT BOOKS REDDIT THINKS WILL BE CLASSICS https://bookriot.com/new-classics-according-to-reddit/amp/#origin=https://news.google.com&prerenderSize=1&visibilityState=visible&paddingTop=0.01&history=0&p2r=0&storage=1&development=0&log=0&cap=cid&csi=0&cid=1?amp_js_v=0.1 Six Great SFF Love Stories https://www.tor.com/2021/02/02/six-great-love-stories-of-sff/comme
  22. My mother was some years older than yours and born in Leiden. She told of eating tulip bulbs during WW2 and said she'd never eaten anything so bitter. Regards, Kareni
  23. I'd not seen these so went hunting and found them. Very cute! Are you a fan of the original series books? If yes, I'm always happy to hear your favorite titles and share mine. Regards, Kareni
×
×
  • Create New...