Menu

Jensen's workbooks

We're using Format Writing.

Ease of use--very straightforward with clear instructions. That is, providing your dc isn't as rebellious to any and all writing programs as mine is! Grading sheets in the back help you see how to mark the work.

Effectiveness--very effective at teaching the types and mechanics of writing a paragraph, 5 paragraph essay, etc. It will not teach wonderful, beautiful writing, but I find that the boring samples make it very, very easy to see the mechanics. It's also very cost-effective and can be self-taught with some oversight to check the work, answer questions, etc.

My dd hates it, but she hates any writing assignments unless she gets to write her own fiction and would hate any writing program. She'd rather draw, read or swim laps, because to her that's fun.

We have the vocab book waiting to be used. She has a great vocabulary already, but this will be a check up course as we haven't studied vocab much as she's a natural speller, etc.

I've used Jensen's Grammar with four of my five children thus far--the youngest one will complete it next year (age 13). It is a *very* good junior high/early high school review text of grammar. I think it would be tough if your child has never encountered nouns, verbs, prepositions, antecedents, etc.

One characteristic style employed by Jensen is a repetitive format: each lesson consists of two pages: LH page: the lesson explanation, RH page: the exercises. He purposefully does this with all his texts so that students are not figuring out what to do in a lesson--they can get right to business.