Menu

What are some truly cool things I can do with dry ice?

It is good for practical jokes! I used to work in a lab and had ready access to dry ice. We'd put a small piece in a small plastic tube, cap it, and then casually walk by someone else's lab bench and drop it into their waste basket. A minute or two later the tube would explode as the dry ice melted and the gas expanded. Great fun! We'd do a similar thing in the lunch room. Drop the capped tube into an empty soda can, and then leave it on the lunch room table where others were eating.

But that probably isn't the kind of thing you're looking for, right? :D

We'd also put a piece inside a latex glove, tie the wrist shut, and then let it slowly expand into a big hand-shaped balloon. You could try the same thing with a balloon to demonstrate how the volume of the solid dry ice is much smaller than the volume of the "melted" CO2 gas.

:) Carolyn

We get dry ice regularly for the kids birthday parties.

the standby thing to do, which somehow never gets boring is to put containers of very hot water on a table & drop a few pieces of dry ice into the container (using tongs or heavy duty gloves) ------> fog

if you add a few drops of regular dish soap to the hot water before adding the dry ice -----> weird cool looking pile of bubbles which you can pop with a finger or a straw & have the fog escape

see pix here http://hmsindefatigable.blogspot.com/2008/05/hugo-is-10.html

There's a funny thing to do with it if you have a Canadian toonie (a $2) which has a polar bear on one side & the Queen on the other. You hold the dry ice in tongs with one hand and the coin in the other hand using either tongs or a gloves.