Menu

If your kids are in public school, do they have exams in grade 7

Bluegoat

I was talking to my dd13, and she mentioned that her friend in a private school had exams, unlike her school.

It had not occurred to me that she had not had any yet.  Grade 7 is the first year of middle school here, and when I was a student we started doing exams that year.  In fact I was in the same school dd is.  At some point they ave dropped them.

This also got me thinking about what the exams were like.  We had essays for both social studies and English.  In SS, we had sheets of foolscap, and had to write an outline on the left side pages, and the corresponding essay on the other side.  That was my main instruction in essay writing in school.

I am realizing that dd's work is not at all at a similar level.  Now, she has just begun immersion this year, so to some extent that seems natural, but even her English class is doing no essay writing - it's more like a lot of little projects, projects on the computer, or stories.  They don't seem to ever write more than a page.  Dd also says the non-immersion kids are doing similar projects in ss as dd's class.

I'm curious, does this seem typical?  Do you think it's an improvement?  What's the thinking?

Dd is a good natural writer and I'm confident to help her, so I'm not worried about her personally.  And I don't know that losing exams matters at this point.  But I kind of feel like essay writing was the major thing I learned in middle school, and it was important too in terms of learning to think logically.

ETA - I am thinking of exams at the end of term, for that subject.  Not standardized testing or other tests.

Edited by Bluegoat