Menu

Does this sound like an LD issue? or APD? Uh....

One of my friends has a DD11, almost 12, who has wanted to play piano for years. She had a cheap keyboard where the keys would light up for various songs, and taught herself most of them, as well as found a few on youtube that she's been able to learn, and can play some pretty impressive stuff.

They finally were able to get enough money together to get her a piano for Christmas, and so far, she's been fired by two piano teachers for lack of progress, since mid-January! The mom called me today, asking me to try to figure out what was going on. I'm not primarily a pianist or piano teacher, but I'm a music teacher, and her daughter is just so depressed and demoralized by this double "Failure", that mom doesn't know where to go from here. I spent a couple of hours with her this afternoon.

And, I can kind of see why the teachers have gotten frustrated. This is a kid who can play full versions of things like Moonlight Sonata, but cannot reliably find G on the piano. She can tell you that the set of 3 black keys is F, G, A, and B, but if you ask her to point to G, she will touch or play F or A about 75% of the time. She cannot hear the difference between notes or when she is off in a song, even a song she knows and can sing. If I show her which two notes she should play and then sing or play a melody using just those two notes, she cannot repeat even something 4 notes long. I'm not a music therapist, but I've got a pretty strong background in teaching music to kids who have reading disabilities, and honestly, this is the first time I've ever seen a kid who was playing to this level who could not read music who was not playing by ear.  But as far as I can tell, she is somehow learning how to play just by seeing what keys to press-but cannot hear the differences.