Menu

Math tutor, mathnasium, ???

lgliser

One of my 11 year olds is doing 5th grade CLE math. She's "ok" at it, but is often in tears. She really takes a while to grasp concepts sometimes. I think she's a lot like I was - she doesn't have a true understanding, she just goes through the motions to get it done. I think Prodigy math has her at a 3rd grade level, which I only just noticed and it really shocked and saddened me!

I am still not great at math myself so I am not good at helping her, so DH has taken over. He does better than me but she gets stubborn and is hard to teach... like she really doesn't want to learn, she just wants to be done with the assignment.

I feel like she either needs a different curriculum (which is a bummer because I really like CLE) or a tutor. I think I've heard that mathnasium is really thorough and would probably truly help her, but I know it's very pricey.

And I'm not sure how to even find a tutor. I mean, maybe there's a teen of a friend or something but I'm not sure if a teen could get in depth enough for her, ya know?

Any suggestions?

Edited by lgliser

Hmmm.

Do you have any suspicion that she might have dyscalculia?

CLE is often recommended to help with gaps in struggling math students. But that doesn't seem to be helping her.

What about trying Rightstart's Activities for the AL Abacus program?

Can she subitize, that is, see how many at a glance without counting (up to five, anyway)?

Can she break numbers apart and handle then on her head? Like does she know all the pairs that make ten?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5000 using Tapatalk

• Like 1

I actually think it's incredibly common for parents and teachers to overestimate kids' math learning. It's not unusual at all for kids to be able to work at a certain level but only demonstrate knowledge up to another. (At least, so say my teacher friends who are frustrated and worried by their kids' test scores.)