Menu

Contaminated Christmas cookies?

LarlaB

Yesterday I spent 8 hours making 10 kinds of cookies - all GF some dairy free as well.

Last night at 3am I woke up with stomach issues, and had a vomiting episode at 9am this morning and now have chills and aches but no temp.

I am a home cook and not perfect with my sanitation when baking. I’m not sneezing on or picking my nose, but have been known to not wash my hands as much as I should.

I’m concerned about the fussy cookies that had icing or toppings put on after they baked that they might be contaminated. ALL cookies are in the freezer now too....

ETA: my concern is that I contaminated the cookies. Not that cookies made me sick.

Should I toss the GF cookies now that I’ve been tossing my own? Weak Lol

Edited by LarlaB

Are you worried that the cookie ingredients made you sick? Or that you contaminated the cookies with your germs? 

If it's the former, I personally wouldn't worry about that. Stomach stuff can come from a million places. 

If it's the latter, it's my understanding that with stomach bugs, you're not contagious until you've started barfing (or the other stuff), so I still don't think I'd worry too much about it. Someone can correct me if I'm wrong, though.

I’m worried that I contaminated the cookies. It kind of grossed me out. Family had many cookies yesterday so we will see I guess.

No one else is ill... in our home, but I know the stomach bug is in our area. I’ve had one vomiting episode and lots of diarrhea, and now have a temp of 101 with aches and chills. So i don’t know what this is.

Since sleeping more, my stomach is calmer but I’m stil EWWW with eating and even drinking.

I can't imagine what in them could have been contaminated.  I think it'll be ok.