Menu

Reading Dyslexic Advantage and...

I am wondering about a part I read.

It is talking about the minicolumns in the cortex. About how they are further apart in people with dyslexia than in those without. So I was interested in reading more about this study and I googled it. Dr. Casanova, who did the study and was quoted in Dyslexic Advantage, says that you cannot be on the spectrum and have dyslexia because those on the spectrum have minicolumns that are close together. However, many sites on autism all say that dyslexia is a fairly common co-morbid condition. My DS was diagnosed with Aspergers (HFA) a few years ago and recently was diagnosed with stealth dyslexia, so naturally I am curious about this study and what it is claiming.

Thoughts?

• Like 1

Well, I'm no scientist but what this study and many others that have been done over the years regarding the brain tell me as a parent of kids with very complex issues and strengths is that we are only scratching the surface of our understanding of the human brain.  One size does not fit all.  Frankly any scientist that says Only X can happen in Y circumstances and Z can never happen in Y circumstances, especially with regarding the human brain and learning challenges, is on my radar as someone NOT to believe.  Not that everything they are saying is wrong but that they are too rigid in their focus/interpretation/willingness to think outside the box.  While there may be some useful info within what they espouse, it is probably not the be all and end all of truth, if that makes sense.

Frankly I have had too many experts and too many studies say one thing only to find that it was wrong or didn't apply to my kids or didn't take into account additional factors, etc.  Basically I read EVERYTHING with a grain of salt now.  

• Like 2