What's with the ads?

#1 kristen18

kristen18

Just Visiting

• Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts

Posted 21 November 2017 - 07:47 PM

My daughter has epilepsy and when she has seizures there is usually a trigger, like an illness or sleep deprivation. Last Tuesday, we tried Barton for the first time. That afternoon, her seizures started up. She had a number of them Tuesday, and one on Wednesday morning. She has been fine since then, until today. I had put the Barton aside and tried it again today, she had a seizure this afternoon. Can using a certain part of the brain trigger a seizure? We couldn't come up with any other possible trigger. 

#2 PeterPan

PeterPan

Beekeeping Professor

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 31067 posts

Posted 22 November 2017 - 12:04 AM

I'm no expert on seizures or brain structure, but it sure seems reasonable. You would need to talk to her doctor. They could look at scans to see what parts of the brain have been affected by her seizures and compare that to the parts used in the phonological processing of Barton.

Was she dyslexic before the seizures, or is the reading disability due to damage from the seizures? It may be you're going to need to approach this a different way. How old is she?

The Eides have some information on brain scans and dyslexia that they've posted on their blog in the past. 

#3 kristen18

kristen18

Just Visiting

• Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts

Posted 22 November 2017 - 09:28 AM