Menu

Jury Duty -- can I bring stuff with me?

TheReader

I looked on the website for my county, and the downloadable juror handbook they have posted, but can't find the answer to this. 

Can I bring a bag of stuff to do while sitting & waiting? A book to read & some snacks (not to eat in the courtroom)? I assume I have to have my phone turned off, but surely I can keep a bag/purse with me to keep my wallet, keys, phone in while I'm there, right?

It's my first time, and I'm clueless. 

• Like 1

I've always been able to take things with me.  I generally have a tote with 2 books (just in case I get bored with one), maybe a magazine too, a notebook (a paper one, for writing in), kindle, phone...  yeah, I fear boredom. But also, I fear that if I am not occupied, someone will start chatting with me...  Oh, a water bottle, and a non-messy snack. 

Edited by marbel
  • Like 5

I reported for Jury duty in TX (County) at least once. I think they had us waiting in a big waiting room. To be there, in case we were called, to see if they wanted to put us on a jury.  I don't see any reason why you couldn't bring a book, knitting, etc. As long as your Electronics are silent, you can probably use them too?  I wasn't called to be on a Jury panel, so it was just sitting there until they dismissed us.  If you get on a Jury, I hope it is an interesting case and a Short Trial.

• Like 1

Thanks! I'm happy to go report, and can't decide if I hope to be called or not called. I have important stuff to do starting next week, that I can skip if I have to, but really important stuff the week after that I would seriously hate to miss.