Menu

Chemistry nomenclature question

We covered naming acids today.

HOCl (problem)  HClO (table in the lesson)   According to the answer key these are the same. What is the deal with the change in order? Will we encounter this again or is this a typo?

The text gives a table of common polyatomic ions and says that you must learn them. Then the problems use a Bromium ion that isn’t in the table.  I am assuming that because it is in the same column as Chlorine it forms the same ions with oxygen that Chlorine does and that is how the students were to figure out the name. Is this correct?

Do you have students memorize the ions or use the chart?

Is nomenclature something other kids struggle with? We have been working on the 5th chapter in Zumdahl Introductory Chemistry for 6 or 7 days now. It seems like a long time.

Thanks,

Kendall 

Edited by matermultorum

Hi Kendall!

I'll jump in and try to answer the best I know how. I am a fledgling chemistry student myself---studying it hard along with six dedicated local students who are really helping me see the material from their eyes. We are using Zumdahl's World of Chemistry.

I have seen Zumdahl use ClO and OCl interchangeably for the hypochlorite ion in my text, too, so I googled it, and yes, it seems that both forms are acceptable. I do not know why and haven't been able to find the answer on the interwebs, so if someone knows, please tell us!

Bromine isn't a polyatomic ion so that is why it doesn't appear on the polyatomic ion chart. Just as you noticed...like chlorine, it is a Group 7 element so it forms a 1- anion. Yes, your student should memorize the ions that the different groups form (Group 1: 1+; Group 2: 2+; Group 3: 3+, Group 6: 2-; Group 7: 1-). 

And yes, your student should memorize the common polyatomic ions, their formulas, and their charges. I'm having mine work on 2-3 a day (they have already memorized 44 common elements/symbols).