Menu

Password managers

Ottakee

I have been using the Free version of LastPass for several years.  Love it. It saves a lot of time every day. I have almost all of my passwords in it, with the exception of 2 banks and PayPal.  I have a Pass Phrase that I use to get into my LastPass.

I use (almost always) the Google Chrome web browser and (on rare occasions) Mozilla Firefox and there are "Extensions" or PlugIns or whatever they are called, that you can add onto the web browsers, which I have done. 

I believe LastPass is the most popular Password Manager, but there are also others.

We use Dashlane, but not browser extensions.

There have been reports of the extensions being less secure than the original package.

It holds our passwords, but also the kind of information notes that I would need if Husband died, as he mostly manages the finances.

Edited by Laura Corin
  • Like 1

I looked at 1Password today but it's 3 monthly and Last Pass has a Free version I have been using for 39 months. I am going to Export my Passwords and also try to research what Laura mentioned that browser extensions may be less secure.

Sent from my SM-G355M using Tapatalk

I've been reading extensively about this recently. Wired mag and The NYT WireCutter have recommended both LastPass or 1Password equally.

Most sites also recommend setting up two-factor authentication for as many sites as support it.

LastPass is slightly cheaper than 1Password. It also has the free version for a single user, but it would be convenient to have all the family members' passwords in one account. 

@Laura, can you please share more info about browser extensions being less secure? I have not come across this info.

If you don't use the browser extension, then how do you access your passwords?

• Like 1

Laura, can you please share more info about browser extensions being less secure? I have not come across this info.

If you don't use the browser extension, then how do you access your passwords?