Menu

Math planning help for 3rd grader with FASD/LD?

Hello everyone! 

I am new to the WTM forum, but have been reading/lurking for several months now. I have already learned so much from those here on the Learning Challenges board, and wanted to thank you for all of the help you have given to me and so many others! Reading this forum has helped me to feel confident in our decision to homeschool the two of our children who donĂ¢â‚¬â„¢t fit the public/private school mold. Thank you! 

Now, I could really use a little help finishing off my planning for this year, which starts in two weeks! My husband and I have very recently made final the decision to homeschool our 8-year-old son this year for 3rd grade. I have been homeschooling our younger son since last December, and feel pretty comfortable with most of our plans for both boys. However, I am still struggling with math for the 8-year-old, who has FASD. 

DsĂ¢â‚¬â„¢s FASD diagnosis (specifically, alcohol-related neurodevelopmental disorder/ARND) was confirmed in 2015, shortly after he joined our family through the foster care system. He is a bright kid (average IQ), with lots of strengths and some real athletic and creative talent. But, like most kids with FASD, he has always struggled with math. Last November, he was diagnosed with a Specific Learning Disorder in mathematics, in the areas of number sense, memorization of arithmetic facts, and accurate or fluent calculation. He is now going into 3rd grade and working at an early/mid 1st grade level in math. He has had no trouble with 1st/2nd grade geometry concepts, but all other areas of math have been a struggle. We have tests scores coming out of our ears, so if they would be helpful at all please let me know and I can post them. 

I have been researching various math programs, and the three that appeal to me are: