Menu

Wasting my life, go get Bachelor's, finish well with DS12, Quill babbling, help me think thru

Ginevra

Brain dump here. I'm trying to make some decisions.

As some of you know, I earned an AA degree a few years ago, while in the middle of homeschooling 3 kids and working PT. I am so glad I did it, but I also worry some that DS (now 17) suffered in homeschooling some because of it. At the time, I did not have a good understanding of his learning style and difficulties and he didn't do well. I was expecting him to carry along fine, in the same way as DD, who is 2.5 years older than him, did, but I understand now that she is a very different student, quite intelligent and academic, and highly self-motivated. These are things DS (now 17) is not the same on. (Well, he is intelligent, but not highly academic, does not like to read, struggled with writing, needs concrete and explicit instruction, etc.) He is doing pretty well now and is at a private high school, entering Senior year this fall. So, I guess it "worked out," but I feel he was disserved by my college and working while he was in middle school years at home.

So, now, my only HS student is DS12, who is 7th grade this fall. He tends to be academically much more like DS17 than like DD20, although not as hampered by LDs; I do think he is on the ADHD side, as other DS is. (Inattentive type.) The past two years, I have been diligently "correcting" with this son ways that I feel I didn't correct other DS, hoping that his transition into B&M school will be much smoother than it was for DS17. I do CAT testing each year and DS12's scores this past year were markedly improved. I think that understanding the learning style of the boys has helped me teach much more effectively and I do think DS12 is on his way to having a good experience upon eventually entering school.