Menu

Teaching math to gifted learners

Pegs

I'm taking a math education subject this semester, and I'm on the lookout for interesting articles on teaching mathematics to the highly able.

I'm aware of The Calculus Trap, and I've had some readings assigned already, but I thought I'd pop in here and ask for some additional input. If you know of any particularly interesting articles on maths/teaching/exceptional learners, please would you share with me here?

Thanking you in advance. :)

• Like 1

Interesting.

I wrote last semester on teaching remedial students, one of whom I very seriously suspected of being gifted.

Lambert, R. (2015). Constructing and resisting disability in mathematics classrooms: a case study exploring the impact of different pedagogies. Educational Studies in Mathematics, 89(1), 1-18.

Soooooo, not what you're asking for, but I thought I'd come and be conversational anyway.  :tongue_smilie:

I have no articles, only experience. My ds refused all teaching or even the use of text books with direct instruction starting at the age of 8. He had to figure it out all by himself, just had to. Clearly he is not the only gifted math learner like this given that the AoPS textbooks are written with the discovery approach. So I'd be interested in what exactly "teaching" means in this context. I encouraged and listened and learned with him at times, but I never taught in the traditional sense. Just something to think about as you explore this topic.

Ruth in NZ

• Like 2

Some books, and not necessarily for teaching gifted learners...

I found Liping Ma's Knowing and Teaching Elementary Mathematics: Teachers' Understanding of Fundamental Mathematics in China and the United States interesting when I read it years ago.

https://www.amazon.com/Knowing-Teaching-Elementary-Mathematics-Understanding/dp/0415873843/

Or maybe Maria Montessori's writings/methods or Moebius Noodles?

https://www.amazon.com/Moebius-Noodles-Natural-Yelena-McManaman/dp/0977693953