Menu

capri pants in court

Bootsie

I had jury duty today.  The jury duty summons stated that attire proper for the court room must be worn and specifically said "no shorts, no capri pants, no skorts"  That was all that was specified.  When I reported to jury duty this announcement was made and potential jurors were told that they needed to rectify the situation. 

Mini skirts and leggings are apparently OK--as are FBI shirts--Female Body Investigator.  

I work in a professional setting where I know many women who have summer business suits with capri pants.  The temperature here is over 100 degrees.  Would you consider pants to be offensive to the court simply because they don't touch the tops of your shoes?       

• Like 1

Hmm - were they looking up people's skirts? Otherwise, how could they tell the difference between a skirt and a skort? 

Just checked VT's courts - "appropriate casual dress is required" is the wording. 

And unless I was a lawyer arguing a case or on staff, I wouldn't have an issue with capri pants.

• Like 7

I wouldn't. But, it sounds like they are trying to eliminate casual attire. In my experience, most capris fall into the casual attire category, it sounds like the court sees it that way too.

It also sounds like the court's dress code description has not been updated to reflect current clothing styles/trends as I would consider leggings inappropriate for court (they are too open ended and can be worn in a variety of ways and fabrics - some just outright awful/unprofessional looking - same with minis).

• Like 2

Hmm - were they looking up people's skirts? Otherwise, how could they tell the difference between a skirt and a skort

Just checked VT's courts - "appropriate casual dress is required" is the wording. 

And unless I was a lawyer arguing a case or on staff, I wouldn't have an issue with capri pants.

Yes!

Back in the day, didn't some skorts have a skirt front but shorts at the back? I think I may have had a pair of those...