What's with the ads?

Photo
- - - - -

How many weeks is your area's summer reading program?

17 replies to this topic

Poll: How many weeks is your area's summer reading program? (42 member(s) have cast votes)

How many weeks is your summer reading program?

1. 3-4 weeks (2 votes [4.76%])

Percentage of vote: 4.76%

2. 5-6 weeks (7 votes [16.67%])

Percentage of vote: 16.67%

3. 7-8 weeks (22 votes [52.38%])

Percentage of vote: 52.38%

4. 9-10 weeks (7 votes [16.67%])

Percentage of vote: 16.67%

5. other (4 votes [9.52%])

Percentage of vote: 9.52%

Vote Guests cannot vote

What's with the ads?

#1 heartlikealion

heartlikealion

Beekeeping Professor

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12338 posts

Posted 19 June 2017 - 06:41 PM

If your public library (or I guess any group) has a summer reading program and you are familiar with it, how long does it last? I don't know if it's my age or if a month long sounds short to anyone else. What I mean is, seems like when I was a kid the program lasted a longer part of the summer. Maybe it did, in that town. But here, it's basically a month long. This always messes us up when we're creating the book goal. I didn't realize the end date was attached to the form so I just told ds, "it's not the whole summer" and didn't realize it was really a month, give or take a few days. His goal was way too ambitious lol.

I'll leave it up to you to round to the nearest week or choose other.

#2 SKL

SKL

Qualified Bee Keeper

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 27125 posts

Posted 19 June 2017 - 07:15 PM

I chose 7-8, though it might be 9-10.  My kids got off school on June 6 and the program ends in early August.  It might have started before June 6, but that doesn't do anything for kids still in school.  :p

I think it was 10 weeks when I was a kid, but back then, summer vacation was more like 12 weeks; now it's 10.  :/

#3 SKL

SKL

Qualified Bee Keeper

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 27125 posts

Posted 19 June 2017 - 07:16 PM