Menu

Should I follow the public school requirements in my state (FL)?

I graduated my NT son from homeschool back in 2006.  There was no talk in homeschool circles of meeting ps requirements, getting 24 credits, etc.  We did dual enrollment so he had his A.A. at the end of high school so I never pursued "requirements".  

My dd is now in high school.  She was diagnosed with sensory issues as a toddler, deals with some depression and insomnia, anxiety, etc.

She has the ability to learn most things on the high school level, but absolutely no stamina.   She does not have the ability to put in the "hours" a typical high school student can.  

For some reason things have shifted and now everyone (parents and evaluators) are insisting they need to follow the ps requirements and get the 24 credits to graduate high school.  One of the evaluators I spoke to who knew my son, and her kids graduated with mine, said that is has changed since my son was in school.  Now they need the 24 credits.  My current evaluator who is very laid back and has an autistic son said do the best you can and you make the decision when to call it a credit.  But we should still stick with the 24 credits.

Does anyone know where this shift occurred?  I can't find any changes in the homeschool law in FL.  Is it because of a change in college requirements?  

Best case scenario my dd will go to community college for an AA and then transfer to a local university.  This whole 24 credit thing is making her a basket case. (and me)  I would love to just teach her and prepare her to hopefully be able to attend college.   I can't find anyone locally that agrees with this decision.  Would I be causing her some problems down the road if I did that?   Would her "homeschool diploma" be a sham?   Is there something in the law I am missing?