Menu

How do you "Deemphasize IEW's 'dressup' exercises?"

OrganicMom

How do you "Deemphasize IEW's 'dress-up' exercises?"  Or, does the child create better flowing sentences and paragraphs on their own over the years with IEW? Do the problems with stilted writing take care of themselves over a longer amount of time with IEW?

I have no experience with IEW writing. I have only heard that as a strong recommendation, multiple times. I am choosing to use IEW as our method of learning writing, if it works for us. I will be beginning with TWW and SWI-B with a 5th/6th grader level this summer. I intend, as of now, to follow the progression of IEW levels to the end, and I also have a 3rd grader that will be following those steps. 

I am also insecure about teaching writing. I am also learning how to improve my own writing and learn what I never did. So, I genuinely ask, must I deemphasize the dress-ups, and spend time teaching differently, and if so, HOW. Or does deemphasize, mean skip them altogether? And do dress-ups mean any and all ways to limit the children's word usage? 

We are using Hake Grammar, and I have Killgallon elementary ready to go, but I can also purchase the middle school levels too, to use later, or now, if this helps??

Thank you in advance! I need a doable plan for all of writing for both of my kids, and after much consideration, I believe, I have chosen IEW to fit that bill... but I want to be at peace about my concerns that I have received from others. 

Edited by OrganicMom

Think of it as scales. For about 3 years, you practice the scales and at some point they become internalized.

IEW says to drop the checklists after 3 years.

Neither of my oldest 3 have stilted writing b/c of IEW.  My second oldest has always written naturally.  My oldest, who did the most IEW, now has a very nice style and getting an A in his AP  English Language class.