Menu

Math and Science Sequence for an aspiring scientist?

Hi All~

It's been a while since I've been on the high school board. :) My oldest is a college graduate and my middle is a junior in college.

My youngest will be in jr high next school year, so I am beginning to map out his journey.

At this point, he is insistent that he wants to major in physics in college. Whether he sticks with physics or not, I am fairly confident he will go a math/science/computer science route in college.

He is currently 5th/6th grade. We should be good to go for pre-algebra next school year.

Any suggestions for a math and science sequence beginning in 7th grade for a strong math/science kid (who is most likely gifted) wanting to pursue the same in college? His conversations include very selective colleges.

Thanks for any thoughts!

I am a physics professor whose homeschooled DD majors in physics at a very selective college.

The most important math is a rock solid mastery of prealgebra and algebra. I advise to take whatever time is necessary to make sure your son achieves that. Take it from there.

For a strong student, the math sequence could look like this:

8th algebra, 9th geometry, 10th algebra 2, 11th precalc, 12th calculus. We used AoPS, because it is the most rigorous, strongest in concept, deepest in coverage. It teaches a way of thinking  about math that is of tremendous value to a physicist.

I am strongly in favor of a physics first sequence. Both my kids took algebra/trig based physics as their first high school science in 8th/9th grade. 

If the student aspires to a highly selective top college, taking calculus based physics in 11th /12th would be a good idea. This allowed my DD, who majors in physics at a top tier college, to take the honors introductory physics sequence which was significantly more challenging and would not have been doable without having had a standard calc based physics during high school.