Menu

Writing with Skill OR CAP Writing & Rhetoric

my son used W&R in 5th (Narrative, book 2).  He hated it.  I thought it would be fun, but he really needed more direct instruction. 

He used WWS in 6th.  For him, this worked much better because it was very broken down and specific. 

Both taught Narrative (well, we were using the narrative book of W&R!).

You can look at generous samples of both online, so I'd really take a good look and see what you think your child would respond to more.  Maybe try a practice week with each?

• Like 1

I have no experience with Writing & Rhetoric, but my 10 year old loves WWS.  She is right next to me right now, so I asked what she likes about it and she says it explains things well and teaches everything step-by-step.  She really enjoys the story excerpts too and is always asking if we can get the whole book.  It does a good job covering narration and her skills have increased dramatically.  I also like that it provides a lot of guidance and practice about creating outlines.  She now routinely uses outlines to help her take notes in other classes.

Honestly, I thought she’d hate the book when it first arrived because there was a lot of reading in the first few weeks.  She can be a bit scatterbrained and if something doesn’t capture her attention immediately she’ll spend the day gazing out the window.  But she really looks forward to her WWS lessons.

• Like 1