Menu

20th century documentaries?

I'm new to using documentaries to supplement my dc's education and I was wondering if you could make some suggestions for documentaries that you really appreciated that cover basically any aspect of 20th century history. From my limited exposure to documentaries they seem to frequently be over-the-top dramatic in their bias. I'd love suggestions in particular that are a little more level headed and maybe a little more like conventional journalism in nature.

As a side note, how do you find good ones? We've got limited bandwidth so I download them at the library and so I don't feel like downloading 10 to find one good one. I also don't want to expose my children to a bunch of garbage. We don't do TV so they're fairly impressionable with this medium which makes me feel need to be careful.

Edited by Rose M

You'll get the best stuff by sticking with known broadcasters, IMO. So things on PBS, for example, are likely to be very good quality. The big name things from the History Channel will be compelling - though more sensational. Independently made things may be more of a mix, but can be the best of all. For example, when we studied WWII, we watched Paper Clips, which isn't about the Holocaust per se, but is about a small southern town's Holocaust school project and is an amazing documentary.

For the 20th century, there's so much... I mean, you almost have to narrow that down. Anything from American Experience that covers the 20th c. will be good. CNN did this amazing series more than a decade ago called The Cold War, which was excellent and detailed. There are countless good WWII documentaries. There's a Ken Burns one that's more about the homefront from a few years back just called The War.

• Like 1