Menu

Best way to approach math for a smart 5 year old?

BethanyAnn4

15319085_10157789804560291_8620951474280
15284134_10157789602255291_6836534818351

I am new to teaching my children and am not sure what to do with my five year old girl. (Her birthday is February.) She she begs for "hard" work because she is very bored in Abeka 1st grade program. I told her multiplying is just taking the number as many times as it says. Well, she did the papers pictures above just from what I told her. Can any of you suggest a program I should enter her into that is more challenging? I don't want to push her too hard, but I certainly don't want to hold her back. She can also read extremely well. I believe can read many grades above her age level.

I had told my five year old that multiplication was an array. We didn't talk about it much afterwards, but then when we got to learning multiplication this past summer, just after her sixth birthday, she already had taught herself tricks to quickly find about 2/3 of the multiplication facts. At least that was easy! :)

I would switch to a program that focuses on teaching concepts and then applies those concepts to problem sets. A few that are known for doing this are Singapore Primary, Math Mammoth, and Beast Academy. (Beast starts in 3rd grade, but you could play around with it. My 6yo is doing it now.)

Because she can read so well, I'd suggest feeding her math books. Not texts, but fun books. Livingmath.net has lists of them. A few that have been great successes here are the Stuart J. Murphy MathStart series, Sir Cumference series, Time-Life I Love Math series, Murderous Maths, Anno, Bedtime Math. Most of these teach concepts behind the math, or focus on out-of-the-box thinking. If you are a library user, call number 510 has these types of books on just about every elementary math topic you can think of. And, when you eventually run out of those, you can go to the same call number in the adult section.