Menu

10 years since I graduated college, and became a mom. Advice. work or stay a sahm & try to make $

angelica

My youngest started kindergarten this year and for the first time I have a solid 4 hours to myself while they are at school 'part time'. Next year our 2 kids (5&9) will go to school full time and I would like to go back to work, but only because I feel like a failure at home.

In October I started selling on ebay again and I've been reminded of how much I love it. While in college I sold on there to pay my tuition, in addition to working a full time job. Looking at my sale history since opening my account in 2002 at age 18 I have sold over 65k worth of of stuff. Most of that was sold before I had kids and had access to what I have now. 

Literally everything I've sold in the last month has turned a profit, thanks to them all being bought at a thrift store. I've basically just been reselling what I've purchased over the years for my family. I do find things I can resell while at thrift shops too so I will pick those up and flip them. I've always kinds of done this but not seriously because it's time consuming. With the kids in school now though I see that maybe I can pick it up a little more.

I know many moms who are turning to making money at home with modern day avon alternatives (beautycounter, doterra & lularoe) and I just can't get on board with that. I don't like having to talk to people and sell them. I like the prospect of making money on the side again though. 

I guess I don't really have a conclusion on this post but I truly needed to get this off my chest, so if there is anything you can chime in to say I would greatly appreciate it. This month being my 10 year anniversary is making me think way too much. 

Edited by angelica
  • Like 1