Menu

Ways that Charlotte Mason is misinterpreted/misunderstood today

This is kind of a spin-off of the Consider This thread. A few people mentioned how easily we modern thinkers misinterpret what CM said due to our very different culture, religious perspective, homeschooler assumptions, etc. 

For instance I was fascinated with what Bluegoat said about CM reading Scripture in a way that is foreign to fundamentalism. I would like to hear more about this. I am not familiar with Anglican thought. 

KeriJ mentioned CM grammar lessons that appeared similar to a textbook's.

Did CM believe in/teach evolution?

What about whole language reading?

I am not a CM expert and have only read a portion of her original writings, but after reading the overview that Consider This offered, I was surprised at how hands-off her method of education seemed. She really trusted children to learn on their own. This is a bit different from most modern CM curricula, which are generally quite teacher-intensive. 

So for those of you who have read CM and thought this out, in what ways do you think she is misinterpreted?

I am not a CM expert and have only read a portion of her original writings, but after reading the overview that Consider This offered, I was surprised at how hands-off her method of education seemed. She really trusted children to learn on their own. This is a bit different from most modern CM curricula, which are generally quite teacher-intensive. 

So for those of you who have read CM and thought this out, in what ways do you think she is misinterpreted?