Menu

Anyone have a review for MCT Literature Level?

lisabees

• 2 weeks later...

My friend, a year 12 English teacher by trade (and an excellent one), ordered this based solely on the title, having no idea of the suggested grade level.

She worked through it herself, was challenged and inspired.

When I explained the mct sequence, she was shocked. She had assumed that it was a high school level text (at least) and immediately jumped in to island level with her 3rd grade daughter.

• Like 3

My friend, a year 12 English teacher by trade (and an excellent one), ordered this based solely on the title, having no idea of the suggested grade level.

She worked through it herself, was challenged and inspired.

When I explained the mct sequence, she was shocked. She had assumed that it was a high school level text (at least) and immediately jumped in to island level with her 3rd grade daughter.

Which trilogy did she buy?

• Like 1

I'd love to hear more, too.  I just looked at it and am interested, but not sure where to start my child.  It has recommendations for where to begin for different ages/grades, but I'm a little concerned about missing some of the poetry and literature ideas that are introduced in the early levels.  I have a younger child who can use it later, so I'm debating getting the first series and letting my older child start with it even though it's a few levels below where he is, grade-wise.  He's not a great writing - he understands grammar well, can diagram sentences, and has a big vocabulary, but really struggles to write paragraphs.  Is this the kind of thing that we could move through a little more quickly in the beginning if we start at a lower level?